Fenty Beauty Pro Filt’r Instant Retouch Primer Review

A while ago I bought quite a few things from Fenty Beauty, which you can check out what else I got here, one of them being the primer. Primers aren’t something I chop and change, once I find one I like that’s it because I know it works and my makeup looks good on top of it.

The Pro Filt’r Instant Retouch Primer is £24 and is described as:

A shine-stopping, pore-diffusing primer that smooths the way for better foundation application and longer wear with an instant retouch effect. For Rihanna, creating the perfect soft matte base is the most important part of any look—and the first step to the Fenty Face, her real-life method for killer radiance. 

“I wanted this primer to feel soft and moisturizing at the same time, as well as do the job of keeping makeup on.” – Rihanna

The packaging is similar to the rest of the line, a sleek bottle with frosted tube and a pump dispenser. The first thing I noticed about this primer is the smell, it’s not a strong scent but it definitely smells plastic-y. Which puts me off a bit.

I have combination skin and the formula itself is nice and definitely hydrating. I disagree that it’s a pore-diffusing primer as my pores are just as visible with the primer on. I also don’t think it’s super matte, which I don’t mind. But can make me look super shiny at the end of the day, especially if it’s been worn on warmer days.

Wearing the Fenty primer

I do think it’s a nice primer, but Rihanna definitely needs to change the scent! I also don’t like to wear this on warmer days, but for the winter it has been okay. Overall I probably wouldn’t repurchase this as it hasn’t really done a lot for me. Have you tried any Fenty primers, let me know in the comments below!

x

Follow me: Instagram